May 282016

Real Madrid are the winners of the UEFA Champions League competition for a record 11th time. The Spanish club has now won it two times in three years by beating the same opponents but this time they had to wait till the penalty shoot out before the game was decided.

The encounter started quite thrilling as expected with both sides going hard at each other. The referee of the day, Mark Clattenburg had to calm the players down in the opening ten minutes of the game due to the high tension of the game. Real came close in the first quarter of the game when Gareth Bale’s cross was met by Caseimero in the area but Oblak was fast to keep it out of the goal. In the 15th minute from the same spot kick Madrid took the lead when Toni Kroos cross into the area was deflected by Bale before Sergio Ramos kicked it past the Atletico goal keeper.

The first half ended with Real Madrid in front but just 5 minutes into the second half, Atletico Madrid had a golden opportunity to draw level when they were awarded a penalty but their star man Antionne Griezman saw his shot bounced back after hitting the top of the goal post.

It wasn’t going to end like that, Atletico Madrid finally drew level through Yannick in the 79th minute and the game went into extra time. During the extra time, none for the Spanish teams could spring up any surprises and the game was later decided by a penalty shoot out. Both teams scored their first three spot kicks but Atletico’s fourth which was taken by Juanfran was saved. Cristiano Ronaldo who was Real Madrid’s final spot taker scored the fifth and that buried what was a thrilling encounter between the two sides.

Zinedine Zidane who won the competition as a player for Real Madrid has now won it with the Spanish club as a coach too. What a night it is for the Frenchman.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: